Bring back common sense.


No, I’m not talking about the rapper from my hometown, Chicago.  I’m talking about common sense.

You know what that is, right?  That’s the ability to see what’s right in front of you.  The ability to not resort to irrational rationalizations of what’s obvious to everyone around you.

It’s a gift, not a curse.  It’s doing what your mother would tell you to do.  It’s refraining from the urge to make things more complicated than they need to be because you have something to prove.  It’s abstaining from the urge to look for the answers you seek in places where you don’t have any business lurking or hanging out. 

Common sense needs to be revived like that really really good off-off-off-Broadway show that people refused to see because some idiot masquerading as a critic said they shouldn’t waste their time or money on it.  After a while, no one wants to bring it back because everyone is afraid to offend the Emperor with No Clothes.  I say why not?  Folks tried to bring back skinny jeans (who among you do you know personally who wears ‘em?) and some of us jumped on that disastrous trend quicker and faster than Terence Trent D’Arby shook his tamborine. 

The predicament we’re in as a nation can be traced back to the lack of common sense.  All the madness I see in my hood can be traced back to a lack of common sense.  The fact that I have to wait 30-45 minutes for what is supposed to be fast food can be traced back to a lack of common sense.  If things don’t change soon I will be forced to go on a one-woman hunger strike.  Or shave off my locs.  Or get my eyebrow piercing and run a chain from it to the zipper on my pants.

Does that sound like good common sense to you?

Leave a Reply

