DANGER! There are 12 timebombs ticking in your refrigerator


According to the news, close to 380 million eggs have been recalled due to nearly 300 cases of salmonella poisoning throughout several states.  One of my Twitter friends and I were exchanging tweets on the matter last night.  He said that this works out to be something like 32 gazillion cartons of eggs (okay, it’s really 32 million.  I like to exaggerate).

Eww.  Gross me out!  Gag me with a spoon!  Nasty!!

Of course, being the germophobe that I am, I checked the cartons of eggs in my fridge earlier today, made sure none of them were on the recall list, and put them away.  Breathing a sigh of relief, I then started thinking (dangerous).

 I never took the time to really look at eggs.  I examine them at the grocery store before I buy them, but once I get them home, they go straight into the refrigerator, never to be seen again until I need to scramble, boil or fry them.  On the oft-chance I bake something (rarely anymore), I’ll pull them out, grab a few and proceed with carefully constructing a confectionary masterpiece, i.e., brownies. So today, I spent some time photographing a dozen eggs.  See, eggs have personality, too.  They photograph really well, and I didn’t break one!

Despite the successful photo shoot today, well, now I have second thoughts about eggs.  There’s no telling how many of these tainted eggs are in our food supply.  And yet another corporation has been able to continue operating (business as usual) despite being cited for safety concers.  Again, we see corporations and businesses putting ordinary Americans at grave risk. 

(SOUND FAMILIAR? BP ANYONE? REMEMBER THE UPPER BIG BRANCH MINE DISASTER IN APRIL?  AND THEN THERE’S BIG BANKING.  YEAH.)

Here’s the kicker:  we kinda deserve the hand we’ve been dealt.  Why, you ask?  Well, silence implies consent. By virtue of the fact that we have gone along with the idea that companies are capable and willing to self-regulate, “police themselves and each other,” and that the government has no role to play in ensuring the safety and well-being of its citizenry, we are at fault, too.  And now, we are all contending with the possibility that there may be radioactive eggs ticking like H-bombs in our refrigerators, all across America!

RADIOACTIVE EGGS!!

Some may say, awww, food poisoning isn’t that bad.  Those of us with sensitive stomachs beg to differ.  In a lot of way, a bout with food poisoning can feel like a fate worse than death!  There’s nothing fun about vomiting, diarrhea or a fever for up to 3 days.

Luckily for me, my eggs come from local dairy farmers in Jersey. And I’m highly confident that the rules and regulations regarding food safety are being followed in the Garden State. 

*awkward silence*

 If I come down with salmonella, please notify my next of kin.  Thank you.

Leave a Reply

