Is it me, or did Stephen Hawking miss the memo?


Stephen Hawking NASA 50th (200804210004HQ)

Image by nasa hq photo via Flickr

 

 Stephen Hawking in ‘The Grand Design’: God did not create the universe.  

I’ll keep this one short.  When I came across this link, I have to admit that a  chuckle escaped my lips.   

Manna from heaven.  Or if Stephen Hawking had anything to do with it, it would be more like the gravitational pull of unknown nutritional substances from the sky.  

I don’t think Dr. Hawking got the memo or saw the Glenn Beck rally last Saturday.  I know he’s a genius and all that….but the nation is in the midst of a religious revival, and it’s not politically expedient to denounce God as Creator of the known and unknown Universe. As a matter of fact, some would characterize this as out and out blasphemy.  

Shaking your head yet?  

I am.  

This is the same guy who, earlier this year, warned us about aliens. Yep.  That’s right.  

So what are you saying, Professor?  That we should seek out aliens, who by your own admission, might be out to get us, and forget all about God, who perhaps had our best interests at heart? I’ll let you be the judge of that. Because the reality is, we really don’t know anything.  We think we do, but we don’t. Great theories though.  

Here’s what I’m saying, Dr. Hawking.  Get yourself a  gun. And a bodyguard.  Because the Glenn Beck Mafia is going to come and have a sitdown with you.  And I don’t think your wheelchair is fast enough to get away from them.  They will make you an offer you can’t refuse. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. And if the Mafia doesn’t come calling, the Tea Party will.  Or maybe Sarah Palin.  Pick your poison.  

6 thoughts on “Is it me, or did Stephen Hawking miss the memo?

  1. “I know he’s a genius and all that….but the nation is in the midst of a religious revival, and it’s not politically expedient to denounce God as Creator of the known and unknown Universe.”

    Hawking is not a politician, and he’s British. Why should he care if there were a religious revival in the US? (Assuming that’s true, which I don’t think it necessarily is.)

    “As a matter of fact, some would characterize this as out and out blasphemy. ”

    Again, so? There are no blasphemy laws on the books in either the US or the UK.

    “And I don’t think your wheelchair is fast enough to get away from them. They will make you an offer you can’t refuse. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.”

    This makes me question whether or not this blog is meant to be satire.

Leave a Reply

