Sarah Palin: Mean Girl Numero Uno


Caricature of American politician Sarah Palin,...

Image via Wikipedia

Keeping in the spirit of my anti-cussing, anti-profanity and anti-meanness theme today, I thought it would be a good time to take a quick look at the recently released Vanity Fair article on the one and only darling of the Republican (I mean Tea) Party, 2008 GOP Vice Presidential nominee, and former (3/4th term) governor of Alaska, Sarah Louise Palin.  

I don’t fancy myself a political wonk.  I do enjoy being a spectator of what has now become 24/7/365 political theater, which coincidentally (or not) attracts some of the worse thespians I’ve ever had the displeasure of watching.  It’s like a train wreck or a car accident so horrible, that although I should look away, I can’t stop.  It’s a compulsion.  And I can name a host of B-movies that I’d rather watch, but I don’t, because nothing beats political drama.  

And who do we find at the top of the bad acting list?  Best Actress Sarah Palin. *cue applause*  She, with her bendy straws, and vitriol and temper tantrums.   

In an attempt to air “concerns” regarding the veracity of reporting by Vanity Fair on America‘s darling, allegedly, Palin took to task the MSM for consulting unnamed, anonymous sources to form the basis of the Vanity Fair profile. Now, if you haven’t heard or read about Ms. Palin’s latest tirade in response to the article, you have either your head permanently wedged in a concrete hole, or you’re from a distant galaxy, or you just don’t give a crap.  And that’s fair. Sometimes the media and blogosphere are good for some things; other times, well, it’s an endless onslaught of meaningless information.  

Anyway, I digress.   

Is there any truth to this story? Let’s consider this excerpt from the article:  

The intensity of Palin’s temper was first described to me in such extreme terms that I couldn’t help but wonder if it might be exaggerated, until I heard corroborating tales of outbursts dating back to her days as mayor of Wasilla and before. One friend of the Palins’ remembers an argument between Sarah and Todd: “They took all the canned goods out of the pantry, then proceeded to throw them at each other. By the time they got done, the stainless-steel fridge looked like it had got shot up with a shotgun. Todd said, ‘I don’t know why I even waste my time trying to get nice things for you if you’re just going to ruin them.’ ” This friend adds, “As soon as she enters her property and the door closes, even the insects in that house cringe. She has a horrible temper, but she has gotten away with it because she is a pretty woman.” (The friend elaborated on this last point: “Once, while Sarah was preparing for a city-council meeting, she said, ‘I’m gonna put on one of my push-up bras so I can get what I want tonight.’ That’s how she rolls.”)” 

 No one could make this stuff up.  NO ONE.  And if I were one of those unnamed sources, I would have made the writer promise in blood that he would never reveal my name.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t really want to be knocked upside the head with a can of creamed corn.  

Though I will be the first to admit:  The image of Sarah and Todd Palin pummeling each other with canned goods is an amusing one! 

 Now I’m not debating whether or not this firebrand is a legitimate politician.  I’ll leave that to the political junkies to decide.  

 What I want to know is, why would someone use sexual metaphors and all kinds of mean and nasties to defend herself against claims that, well, she’s Mean and Nasty Girl Numero Uno?  How does this tactic of hitting the MSM below the belt add value, legitimacy or credibility to her already shadowy image?  Seems a bit short-sighted to me.   But then again, I never said she was sharp as a box of tacks, either.  

 Look, she has the right to do or say whatever she wants.  What I’m hoping she’ll have the courage to do is be honest about her Mean Girl tendencies.  There’s nothing wrong with being mean and nasty, as long as you’re transparent about it.  Transparency and accountability.  Own your meanness, Sarah!  It’s okay! Apparently, men find that quite sexy! Women want to be you! You have nothing to lose and the world to gain! Where I come from, we are who we attract.  And there is irrefutable evidence that she tends to attract some of the nastiest and meanest bit players in the political sphere to her movement. Whassup with that?   Oh yeah, I forgot.  A leading actress needs a talented supporting cast, doesn’t she? I’m just saying. Shine on Sarah, shine on. I see you!

Leave a Reply

