The best rabble-rousing comment I’ve read all week


I came across the below comment over at The Obsidian Files.  The discussion centered around the Obama Effect on Black Men, which I wrote about yesterday.  Apparently Obsidian’s post sparked a pretty spirited debate:

“Menelik says:  the quality of Black accepted by ‘conservative’ whites are so starched, stiff, devoid of soul, swagger etc that their very personas’ says more about the extent how far whites view themselves as fully human in relation to ‘normal’ Blacks than anything else.  Consider: the “King”, Elvis Presley, was viewed as ‘Black’ by conservative whites; “the most charismatic” white president, Bill Clinton, had more in common with father Divine the the Rev Billy Graham; and the most mainstream rapper, Eminem is a wigger par excellence. I could go on, and on, and on…  The point is, there has always existed a covert intra-racial war between whites who seek to attach their humanity to ‘the souls of Black folks’ (e.g. John Brown), and those who attach it to the sentimental remainants [sic] of the KKK (see the Tea Party fruit bats). This war is clearly being played out on the US political stage where America’s 1st ‘Black’ president is openly called a liar in Congress, and a Kenyan communist on the streets outside the White House. And with America’s history of assassinating Black leaders, African-Americans are secretly fearing the worst.  Conservative WASPs have always envied Black men’s status as the moral conscious [sic] of America (as Blacks are seen throughout the civilised world) when their own Founding fathers are perceived as a mere relic of a past worthy of omitting. Much is done on home soil to keep Black men as America’s bogeyman. Obama’s election trumped that particular objective. They shall make a widow of Michelle as his reward, and thus returning America to its brutal, unreasoning, and war-like, European roots.    From Menelik Charles, London England

If you agree, or disagree with the premise, you have to acknowledge that his words feel like a right hook followed up by a direct blow to the chest.  Missives like this usually have a way of catching detractors off guard.  And after they’ve taken a moment to recover and catch their breath, they say, “no, I’m alright.” Yeah, I know, you need to save face.  Take a minute and pull yourselves together. Need a bandage for that gash over your left eye?  Someone, please bring an oxygen mask.
 
That’s why I have selected this as my favorite rabble-rousing comment of the week. My friend, you get a gold star.

35 Comments Add yours

  1. Menelik Charles says:

    Thanks for the Gold Star!

    1. LOL, you’re welcome. I’m going to have a hard time finding something to top that next week. I was cracking up when I read it, and the responses to it. As Obsidian would say, “Unassailable!”

  2. Menelik Charles says:

    nycgirl,

    wow, you: pretty damned cute aren’t you?

  3. Menelik Charles says:

    nycgirl,

    your pictures, sweetie, not your attitude lol

    Menelik
    London

    email me, and I’ll send you mine. Deal?

  4. chic noir says:

    *SMH*

    charles I see you’re flirting here too. honey pay him no attention.

    1. okayyyyy….LOL

  5. Menelik Charles says:

    Ms noir,

    really, you should learn some restraint to supplement your jest. My eyesight is not poor, and my tongue is not stitched to the roof of my mouth! I SAY what I SEE; and what I saw in nycgirl was a terribly attractive sister.

    Must I have said otherwise?

    Menelik Charles
    London UK

    1. Well, I really appreciate the compliment but I’m wondering if I should stay under the table with all the comments flying back and forth.

  6. chic noir says:

    no nycgirlygirl don’t hide lol.

    charles is something else. He has that blk brit Idris Elba swag going on. Just procede with caution nycgirl.

    1. No, I’m good. I’m kinda on an extended, prolonged and protracted break from the male species for an undefined length of time, maybe forever…. 🙂

  7. Menelik Charles says:

    @chic noir,

    your imagination veers towards both the fanciful and the disrespectful. Please cease this nonsense and allow adults to converse as adults.

    Thank you

    1. maybe chic noir likes you. she followed you over here, ostensibly to warn me about you, not that I need any warning, and not that I don’t appreciate the gesture. But part of me wonders if maybe she has a thing for you. I’m just sayin’.

  8. Menelik Charles says:

    @nycgirl,

    chic noir has followed me all over the internet “warning” various different young women (e.g. Y) thousands of miles from my grasp 0f my alleged romantic or sexual intentions towards. It’s not funny in the slightest, and incredibly disrespectful. She also accuses me of hating Black women (like the one in my bed in the next room) which I find terribly insulting!

    She simply refuses to stop. No one has yet intervened to suggest that she is stalking me. I guess being a man doesn’t help.

    Menelik Charles
    London England

    1. Wow. Well, from where I sit, one of two things is true. Either you secretly like the attention, which is why she isn’t stopping, or she is stalking you and it’s a problem and you’re going to have to take some decisive action. Now, from what I’ve seen, she’s not going to admit to stalking you, but the fact remains: she followed you over here. The question is, what are you going to do about it?

  9. Menelik Charles says:

    @nycgirl,

    there’s absolutely nothing I can do about it! Ms noir sure knows how to drain a chap’s emotional resources; really, she does. She accuses me of her own ‘sins’. For example, she claims I attack Black women (no evidence, mind you) and this very assertion IS an attack on me! She claims I flirt with complete strangers (for what possible benefit?) and yet she constantly flirts with me. It’s sooo exhausting!

    The sooner this young lady pens a bodice-ripping novel (thus emptying her fertile imagination of these scurrilous fantasies) the better it is for me. Perhaps then I can write what I like, in the hope of garnering more adult-oriented responses…one can but hope.

    Menelik Charles
    London England

    1. How ironic you mention “bodice ripping novel” because I wrote a post on romance novels and Gen-Xers. The premise was that women who read them have distorted views on men and relationships and that they do nothing to help women learn how to relate to men.

      People who know me know that I have a pretty dim view of people who can’t separate fantasy from reality…I’m not suggesting that she does or doesn’t because I don’t know her intentions. The only thing I can judge is a person’s actions, and the facts are a bit damning in this case. You made some comments on my blog, and she came over here behind that and commented under the guise of “warning me” (unsolicited, by the way…last time I checked, I can handle myself…didn’t get to be 38 by being a fool). Those are the facts. If I’m wrong, I’m willing to amend my assessment of the situation.

      Oh, I’m LOL at “emptying her fertile imagination of these scurrilous fantasies” That was brilliant.

      Oh, the internet….*sigh*

  10. chic noir says:

    chic noir has followed me all over the internet
    *chic noir gears back and gives charles menilick a scarlett o”hara style dirty slap*

    How dare you charles

    *chic noir stomps foot for added drama*

    I threw a truce out to you the other day at uncle mu’s place. Instead of leaving me alone, you came back with two more insults. So I figured you liked the attention.

    nycgirlygirl Either you secretly like the attention, which is why she isn’t stopping
    He does and he darn well knows it. It makes him feel like an alpha.

    charles M chic noir has followed me all over the internet “warning” various different young women

    Only you were silly enough to believe I really thought you were coming after them.

    charles She also accuses me of hating Black women which I find terribly insulting!

    charles on every blog that I’ve found you on, you are insulting blk women. Every single one of them. It’s not that I’m following you, it’s that when I come across those “let’s hate on blk women” blogs, I find you there talking trash time and time again.

    (like the one in my bed in the next room)
    Trying to make me jealous again charles???

    *chic noir stomps foot and struts off*

    NYC girlygirl, take note that he came to complain about for how many days after my last comment??? You can’t tell me he doesn’t like the attention. He has no need to worry though cause I may flirt with many but my heart is with blogger default user.

    that’s a copy of our e-wedding video on my blog 🙂

    1. Wow.

  11. chic noir says:

    nycgirlygrl but the fact remains: she followed you over here. The question is, what are you going to do about it?

    I didn’t follow him over here since charles didn’t tell me he was commenting on this blog. I say your comment on uncle mu’s blog and decided to click on your handle. Nothing more than that.

    1. Ohhhh, I get it. You’re the Obsidian Files welcome committee chair! Checking up on me to make sure I’m not crazy or a potential thorn in Uncle Mu’s side. Right???

      1. chicnoir says:

        no just looking to find another nice blog to follow. I like your blog. you take very nice pictures.

        nycgirlygirl- your name came up because I was letting “he whose name I will not type” know that Iposted the coment here but since it didn’t come up for whatever reason, I was calling a truce. I’m not saying another thing to him . I had no idea that I was really bothering him. He is free of chic noir for now and for ever. Just go and read my comment for yourself.

        What you’re saying isn’t lining up with your actions.
        It isn’t?

      2. I appreciate the compliment, Chic Noir. Photography is my passion and that’s all I want to do is take my photos, post them on my blog and live a peaceful, drama free existence.

    2. And another thing, Ms. ChicNoir, why is my name coming up on a thread over at Obsidian’s blog that has nothing to do with me? I approved your comments this morning because I had things to do offline last night. Sorry if I wasn’t moving fast enough for you. What is your problem? What you’re saying isn’t lining up with your actions.

  12. Menelik Charles says:

    nycgirlygrl said:

    but the fact remains: she followed you over here. The question is, what are you going to do about it?

    chic noir replied:

    I didn’t follow him over here since charles didn’t tell me he was commenting on this blog. I say your comment on uncle mu’s blog and decided to click on your handle. Nothing more than that.

    Menelik replied:

    and then you decided warn ms nycgirl of my harassing a variety of women bloggers, right? This is nothing short of harassment!

    chic noir said:

    I threw a truce out to you the other day at uncle mu’s place. Instead of leaving me alone, you came back with two more insults. So I figured you liked the attention.

    Menelik replies:

    which is all the proof you need that I am NOT following and commenting on your posts unless in response your quite wicked nonsense!

    chic noir said:

    on every blog that I’ve found you on, you are insulting blk women. Every single one of them. It’s not that I’m following you.

    Menelik replies:

    and once again, I invite you to provide a word, sentence or paragraph in which I express hatred towards Black women. You’ve declined every opportunity to do so thus far so I figure you are just venting your matriarchal spleen!

    Anyway, my ultimate request is that you kindly leave me alone .

    Thank you.

    Menelik Charles
    London England

    1. This is freakin ridiculous. I can’t wrap my head around this nonsense.

    2. I think this situation has been peacefully resolved, don’t you?

      1. chic noir says:

        yes it has.

        well tell me if you enjoy any of the blogs I posted.

  13. chicnoir says:

    This is freakin ridiculous. I can’t wrap my head around this nonsense.

    don’t try to, I will never address him again and I will hope that he doesn’t comment on one of my comments.

  14. chic noir says:

    I appreciate the compliment, Chic Noir. Photography is my passion and that’s all I want to do is take my photos, post them on my blog and live a peaceful, drama free existence.

    Your welcome. I read/look at many blogs. Most are fashion,beauty or art related. I found myself floating on the R-sphere via a link from another blogger.

    A few of my favorite art related blogs are:

    http://www.purplemag.com/
    http://enteparalelo.blogspot.com/
    http://audreyhepburncomplex.tumblr.com/
    http://tobia.tumblr.com/

    jackjill by tommy tom are and the garace door blogs are good too for fashion photography. I really want to buy a camera like Tommy’s. I think he uses a SLR. I have it written down somewhere.

    1. Are you on tumblr?

      1. chic noir says:

        no, I don’t have a tumbler.

  15. chic noir says:

    nycgirlygrl How ironic you mention “bodice ripping novel” because I wrote a post on romance novels and Gen-Xers.

    I read romance novels but not “bodice rippers”. If I’m not mistaken, those sorts of novels have “forced romance” scenes etc… Not my cup of tea. I like my heroes with alpha looks and beta behaviors when dealing with his woman.

    The premise was that women who read them have distorted views on men and relationships and that they do nothing to help women learn how to relate to men.

    You have a point here^^^. On one of the romance forms I sometimes visit, there was a commenter there who jokingly said after reading a HP romance novel she sometimes turns to her husband and asks why he can’t be like the hero in the last book she read.

    You could also draw a parallel between the unrealistic expectations of women who read romance with those that men who looked at airbrushed photos of naturally very good-looking women in men’s mags like playb0i, penhouse etc. have

  16. chic noir says:

    http://www.garancedore.fr/en/

    here let me give you a link to garance dore’s blog cause you may really like that one if you enjoy illustration. She’s a darn good illustrator.

    http://jakandjil.com/blog/ -tommy ton

    http://kjohnlasoul.com/ – a young brother who shoots street style

    http://sabino.tumblr.com/- random vintage looking photos

    http://wecouldgrowuptogether.blogspot.com/- he uses a very nice camera

    http://www.latelierdunefee.fr/ blk french grl who’s a designer. she takes vintage 70’s soft touch looking photos

    ok that’s it 🙂

    1. Cool, I’ll check them out.

      1. chicnoir says:

        did you check out those blogs? If so, did you add any of them to your must read list?

Leave a Reply

