ABOUT TIME, MR. PRESIDENT! Obama says “They talk about me like a dog”


This minute-long clip of a speech President Obama made yesterday in Milwaukee, Wisconsin has taken the blogosphere by storm.  Seven words have the nation scrambling and scratching their heads, trying to understand why our President went off-message.  It’s amazing how the simple things evade those among us who claim to be the best and the brightest.  It’s actually very simple.

What a country we live in.  For shame, for shame.  It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to understand what the heck he meant by what he said.  I hate when people play dumb.

I find it quite hilarious that the media and the blogosphere takes issue with his remark. And you may not like what I’m about to say.  But people who know me know that I don’t have a problem mincing my words.  *shrugs*

You know what I hate? When people (and this includes the mainstream media) dish unwarranted criticism and bullshit out but have a hard time taking it.  What, did you expect that he would just lie down and be a good Black boy?  WRONG. 

This man, our President, has been nothing but gracious and conciliatory. He tried to reach out to the Republican Party and has had his hand slapped down too many times to count.

As Chris Matthews has said over and over again, “He did what you asked of him.  He played by the rules.”  And what has that gained him?  Two years of blatant disrespect.  People whose names I won’t even bother to mention on my blog have used the media to do nothing but nitpick, nitpick, nitpick. And the President has tried to take the high road.  For what?  That strategy hasn’t worked! 

No one on the other side of the aisle (or for that matter, Democrats, either) has given him his just credit for the things that he has managed to pull off.  Oh, but noooooo!  Black folks have to work 10 times as hard and do the job of 1000 people to get credit for anything.  This is how it always has been. And there are no tangible rewards for this!  Unless you enjoy getting picked on, dissected, studied, and denied our humanity.

Well, here’s a news flash.

Eventually, people, EVEN THE PRESIDENT, are going to get tired of being picked on.  And eventually, people who are subjected to what amounts to abuse will fight back.

So, here’s what I think about the dog comment.  Good for you, Mr. President.  It’s high time that you put people in their place.  I’m looking forward to the next 8 weeks!  Take the gloves off and knuckle up, Mr. Obama!  Watch those punks cower and whine like bitches!

4 thoughts on “ABOUT TIME, MR. PRESIDENT! Obama says “They talk about me like a dog”

  1. I’ve been a huge Obama supporter for quite some time, now.
    Maybe it’s just because I’m a dumb white guy, but I don’t understand what the problem is with his comment. What, because he was honest?

    1. Hello again, Mr. K. First of all, you are not a dumb white guy. If you were, you wouldn’t be blogging and you sure wouldn’t be responding to a black woman’s blog post on a black president.

      What you do offer is a unique perspective on why people, particularly white people (symbolized by the GOP, the MSM, etc.), are so bent out of shape by Obama’s mere presence. Since I’m not white, I can only speculate in this regard.

      I’ll also disclose this: I was on the fence for a long time before I made my decision to vote for Obama in the 2008 election. I wasn’t sure, for a variety of reasons, if I wanted to drink the Obama kool-aid. And I’ll disclose this as well: I’m a native Chicagoan. Despite this, I’ve been very critical of some of his tactical moves, but very impressed by his methodical approach to policy making. Yes, there have been a few missteps along the way, but he’s been able to accomplish quite a few things on his agenda. And that’s admirable, regardless of his race.

      But at this juncture, none of that really matters. He’s in office; he’s our president; and 2 years later, we’re looking at an energized Republican Party (thanks to the Tea Party movement) headed into the mid-term elections. And he’s just getting around to calling things like they are. Again, I suspect that the psychology of his detractors plays a big role in why this is. Maybe they don’t want to hear the truth. Or, maybe, they just don’t want to hear the truth from HIM.

      1. Thanks for your kind words.
        I do remember right after he took the Oath of Office there were concerns that if he came on too strong, he’d be viewed as an “angry Black man”.
        Tea Party, Sarah Palin, Town Halls, those folks are the REAL angry people! Oops, I forgot Glenn Beck.

      2. Very true. There is a deep-seated, borderline irrational, fear of Black men in this country. And I don’t understand why this is. I’ve lived around Black men all my life, and I’m not afraid of them, even though it’s more likely that I, a Black woman, may be harmed by a Black man than someone who isn’t Black.

        And it all doesn’t comport with the fact that Barack Obama would have never been voted into office if it wasn’t for White liberals and independents. On its own, the Black vote would have never guaranteed a victory for Mr. Obama.

        So when you examine the political landscape, it all doesn’t make sense. That’s why I harp on the fact that what we’re seeing is akin to the patients running the psychiatric ward, the mentally ill running the asylum, and the kids in detention running the school. It’s not just the Tea Party, Palins, and Becks of the world. I argue that silence by the moderate voices implies consent. Where are the centrist voices? We are the ones who voted for Obama, and we are letting the extremists on both sides dominate the debate. Are we angry, too? Are we rolling over and playing dead? What’s our problem? We aren’t doing a good job of reframing the debate, even though we know for certain that neither side could care less about our interests. No one speaks for us.

Leave a Reply

