Photo set: An adventure into NYC, September 12, 2010


  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

This is where I usually start my journey into NYC from my humble abode in Jersey City, NJ.  From here, it takes about 20 minutes to the PATH station and then another 15 – 20 minutes into lower Manhattan

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

Would you use this pay phone? I wouldn’t.  Thank goodness for cell phones.  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

So I arrived at the Exchange Place Light Rail Station in beautiful downtown Jersey City, NJ.  For those of you who are woefully unfamiliar with the nearby attractions…there is plenty of signage available to help you find your way.  Because we New Jersey types are extremely helpful and courteous. 

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

So I get to the PATH station, which for those of you who don’t know, is a short walk from the Light Rail station.  And lo and behold, I can’t get through the gate. Nothing works.  So much for that. 

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

So I duck out and make my way to the other entrance with the longest escalators I’ve ever seen.  I usually don’t like going down because, frankly, I’m a big chicken when it comes to heights.  Anyway, as I was walking, I noticed the Katyn Monument framed so nicely by the two pillars, I decided to take a shot.  *Patting myself on the back* 

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

So as I made my way to the PATH station, I heard this buzzsaw roaring sound, over and over again.  Being the curious person I am, I decided to walk over to the Grundy park area to investigate. I noticed boats racing and said to myself, why not…take some photos. I was too lazy to walk over where a crowd of spectators and photographers had gathered, so this was the best I could do with my 55-200mm lens.  Sue me. 

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

Check out LORIBLU, tearing it up on the Hudson River

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

And here’s MEDIAMASTER…I have to admit that I was approached by this yahoo who totally did not get the fact that I was busy and didn’t want to be bothered.  I hate when guys do that. 

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

Anyway, I didn’t realize that I was in the way of a guy who was doing his fishing right on the river front.  This is what he pulled out.  Would you eat that?  I’m not sure I would.  But then again…it could be something from the Gulf of Mexico…I wonder how long before we’ll see stuff with 2 heads and the ability to talk. 

  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

Anyway, after yahoo left, Zion Lion and his dog, Spuds MacKenzie walked up, and I couldn’t resist the urge to take a few photos.  Spuds seemed to be quite comfortable with the camera.  His human probably could use some fashion pointers, though.  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

So after all that excitement, I decided that I should make my way back to the PATH station.  And that concludes the first leg of my trip into Manhattan.  What typically takes 45 minutes tops turned into a 90-minute excursion.  I think I may have ADHD or something, I can never stay focused these days.

2 thoughts on “Photo set: An adventure into NYC, September 12, 2010

Leave a Reply

