Photo set: Taking Detours in Manhattan, September 12, 2010


 So once I reached Manhattan yesterday, my original plan was to go to my local eyebrow place, and then head over to Brooklyn to meet a friend who was in town.  But of course, your fearless blogger and photographer could not pass up an opportunity to capture a few images on the way.  Here’s the first, of a couple standing in front of the American flag mounted on a fence surrounding WTC-Ground Zero.  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

To my left, I saw a man and a woman on a bench, just sitting in the church yard (I call it a cemetery) of St. Paul’s Chapel. I liked the visual of the two monuments/tombstones framing the two people, creating a very strong, intimate moment in my mind. I wonder what they were contemplating.  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

So I snapped a few more photos while I was in the vicinity of Ground Zero and I headed over to John Street.  The eyebrow place, to my dismay was closed.  So I walked over to Nassau to check on a couple of other places.  Closed and closed.  ARGH.  So from there, I walked over to a Starbucks, grabbed a latte, and then made my way to JR Camera on Park Row. Handled my business there, and then crossed the street to City Hall Park.   

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

I took this shot because I really like the way the water shoots out of the spout.  Plus, I took a picture of this same spout and haven’t been able to post it.  So there.  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

Okay.  I’m not really sure what this was all about, and I wasn’t going to ask him because he would have taken me for a tourist.  But I took the shot anyway.  I couldn’t tell if he was really visually impaired, or acting.  You never know in New York City.   

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

By the time I captured this shot, it had begun to rain.  There’s something very visually appealing about people under umbrellas to me…an anonymity of sorts.  But I love this shot because I was able to capture the little girl’s face…She obviously liked to be photographed, and she obviously enjoyed being the holder of Daddy’s umbrella.  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

So after waiting in the rain for the bus, I jumped on the M9, which made its way through Chinatown. While on the bus, I took this shot. I rode the bus, and then decided to get off the bus.  I wanted to go back and check out the Hester Street Fair.  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

Loved the white tents.  Loved the empanada with a cucumber mint lemonade.  Loved watching the families and their children.  There was a volleyball game in progress, and people played ping-pong behind me.  Life was good.  But I then remembered that I needed to make haste.  I had people to meet.  But on my way to the train station, I came across this:  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

And this:  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

And this:  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

 

And finally, I jumped on the F train to Brooklyn.   

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

