Photo set: Day Trip to Coney Island (again), September 15, 2010


So I ended up in Brooklyn (again) but this time, I went down to Coney Island to see what I could see. The last time I was there was in June for the Mermaid Parade, and of course,  the boardwalk was crowded, bustling, full of energy and packed with people of all kinds.  

Yesterday, was a different story, because it was a Wednesday in September.  It was the middle of the afternoon.  The boardwalk was empty, expansive and it felt like it was breathing a sigh of relief.  

So here we go. I hope you enjoy my journey. 

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

Tombstones for as far as the eye can see.  Fascinating. 

 

I decided to get off the train one stop before the end of line and walk to the boardwalk this way.  

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

Once I got to the boardwalk, I took some pictures.  First of the man with the hat; then, the next two pictures below. 

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved
(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

I walked further, and came across this:  ChaCha‘s Bar & Cafe.  And next to it, Shoot a Freak! Ha! 

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved
(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

There’s an eerie loneliness about Coney Island, that hangs over it, even if there are a lot of people on the boardwalk.  I tried to capture that in the next two photos: 

(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved
(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved
Another thing I noticed about Coney Island and the boardwalk is its ornate lightposts and water fountains.  It’s a throwback to an earlier time when it was a big deal to come down to the beach and socialize with family and friends. 
 
(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved
I think I mentioned that I noticed a number of elderly men and women on the boardwalk and how if someone listened to them, they would have remarkable stories to tell about the Coney Island of yesteryear.
 
(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved
Most importantly, it still is a place for friends to get together, stroll, sit, eat, drink and enjoy the ambiance.  I love Coney Island.  I’ll be back Sunday for the tattoo and motorcycle show…of course! 
 
(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved
(c) 2010 Mom of Three Photography, all rights reserved

  

Leave a Reply

