The Way I See It Today: My dreams – and my life – won’t let me off the hook.


Taken July 24, 2010 in Jersey City, NJ. Quote created December 10, 2010.

This past summer I’ve been blogging from time to time about my battle with insomnia. Check out my posts here, here and hereAs a veteran/expert insomniac, I can say with the highest level of confidence, that it’s nice to get a break from restless, sleepless nights, and the more I think about it, I’m starting to feel like Daylight Savings Time is the culprit. There are other things, like stress, which obviously affects quality of sleep, but stress never goes away.  Daylight Savings Time does, and when it did, I felt myself sliding back into a more natural rhythm.  At any rate, as I ease into another winter and daily cups of hot chocolate with milk, I’m happy to report that I’ve gotten my sleeping groove back – for the most part.  Some nights, I’m can manage 7-8 hours of sleep; other nights can be a bit more of a challenge finding that sweet spot, where I sleep all the way through until the next morning.

Thank goodness for music – the jazz station I listen to is my faithful companion who never complains about my snoring, always plays the right songs, and doesn’t fight with me for the covers.  The downside to all of this blissful sleep is simple: Recurring dreams. Dreams of planes crashing and bridges collapsing, old toothless men chasing me, me climbing endless flights of stairs only to slide back down to the bottom, you name it, I’ve dreamt it.

I take it to mean that my subconscious mind is gently reminding me that I have lots of unfinished business and that I need to get on with it.  Time to come out of my self-imposed exile and resolve the turmoil that churns inside me. I get it, I got it, and I’m gonna go get it….whatever ‘it” is.  In the meantime, here’s to hot chocolate, made with milk, and topped with whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

