The Way I See It Today: Do What You Can. Let It Go. And Keep It Moving.


Hello everyone, and thanks for reading my first “The Way I See It Today” post of 2011.

I just want to warn you.  This post is gonna be a tad bit harsh. Why do I say this?  Well, the past two years, for me, have been about tentative beginnings, false starts and painful endings.  Not for other people, but for me.  See, life kinda caught up with me.  I was so busy caring about other people’s problems, that mine kinda snuck up on me and drop kicked me in the teeth.

What have I learned?  That no one really cares about your problems unless you are somehow sacrificing yours for theirs.  That no one really cares if you live or die.

So I’ve adopted a new attitude for 2011.   I can only do what I can, and then when there’s nothing left for me to do, let it go (note:  I borrowed this line from a blog post I read last night….the light bulb went off in my head immediately!), and keep it moving.

Lemme explain why this can be problematic, especially if you’re attempting to have meaningful relationships with other people.

Sometimes people expect you to do way more for them than they really deserve.  They expect you to smile when you don’t want to, be pleasant when you don’t feel like it, laugh at their stupid jokes when they’re not really funny, listen to their problems over and over when you know and they know that they have no interest in solving them, and kiss their asses because everyone else has in the past and they think that you should, too.

Other times, people expect you to care more about their crap than they even do.  You’re supposed to stop what you’re doing and be constantly available to them.  You’re supposed to take them back and forgive them even when they break their promises and fail to keep their word.

Well, that ended on December 31, 2010 at 11:59 p.m.

Yep, folks, 2011 is a new year, and I have a new attitude.  I realize that I am taking a huge risk in saying this, but I’m going to say it anyway.

I don’t give a F*CK.

News flash:  I can’t be at my best all the time…I’m only human.  I have flaws.  I have moods.  I get scared.  I have doubts.  Not just about me, but about you and your place in my life.  And I’m not going to lie.  It feels good to be actually doing something about it after all these years.  Because I have to admit..I was a coward when it came to standing up for myself.

NOT ANYMORE…..

I’m pleased to report that my new attitude has had an immediate, measurable effect on my social life.

For instance, I was told to get lost yesterday.  So that’s what I’m going to do. 

A few weeks ago I was told by someone else pretty much the same thing. That’s what I did.

As far as I’m concerned, these people are dead to me. You know who you are.  You’re DEAD to me…..two less people I will have to concern myself with in the coming year. A lot less dead weight. Good.

And guess what?  I’m gonna be alrite.  And so will you….when you pull your head out your ass.

I am also pleased to report that there will be more where that came from.  I can’t wait!

It feels great to let go!

P.S.  I have a short attention span in 2011.  Don’t expect me to remember or care about every single detail of your miserable lives, either.  I’m getting too old and my short-term memory doesn’t work that well anymore.

By the way, I love the tags that are being generated for this post.  Good clean fun!

4 thoughts on “The Way I See It Today: Do What You Can. Let It Go. And Keep It Moving.

  1. Tish, I think you know my ex. LOL

    Welcome to the world of caring about YOU. I arrived at this location about a year ago so if you need a tour, just let me know.

    xoxoxo

    1. @Cherie,

      Maybe your ex knows my ex. And they all hang out with the other losers in the world trying to figure out ways to make the rest of us crazy. 😉

      Seriously though, this isn’t just about love relationships…I’m talking about toxic relationships of all kinds, across the continuum from family to friends to co-workers.

      This is the year for taking my sanity back. And I don’t really care who falls on my sword at this point. It just won’t be me anymore.

    1. @Di, thanks for stopping by. I try to have a little something here for everyone. Just getting a few things off my chest so I can start my new year off right! Ya’ feel me? (in Omar’s voice) 🙂

Leave a Reply

