OOPS! I Broke My Camera. Now What?


I came across a post entitled “What To Do When You Break Your Camera” (you can access the link to the original post below) this morning as I was perusing my Twitter feed and thought, Who breaks their camera?  Does that actually happen? 

As we all know, accidents happen. I have to admit, I am a bit of a klutz. I am known for tripping over air, and stumbling over nothing.  I just can’t help myself.  Fortunately, though, all my mishaps did not involve my camera. I maybe be clumsy, but I’m not dumb.  I try not to walk and take pictures at the same time.  I know my limitations.  

Also, I think my camera comes with a no-accident force field that is automatically activated when I pick it up to use it. 

Besides, no one actually plunks down a grand or two or ten or more for their precious camera equipment with the goal of breaking said equipment and rendering it absolutely useless.

Right?  Apparently not.

According to post author, photographer and self-described world traveler  Peter West Carey, photogs leave their equipment on moving vehicles, drop them from cliffs and all kinds of other interesting scenarios that I just don’t find myself in.  But then again, I’m not a world traveler. Yet.  I’m just a lowly hobbyist with a dream.

Despite this, Carey and all of the good folks at Digital Photography School share some really good tips on what we should do if by chance, our cameras get run over by an MTA or SEPTA bus, trampled by elephants or knocked into the toilet (I mean, what were you thinking anyway by bringing your DSLR into the bathroom?  That’s what camera phones are for, silly).

Carey walks the reader through what amounts to a protocol in the event your camera ends up in 20 shattered pieces on the ground.  I don’t know if I would remember every single step, but that’s just me.  Besides having a panic attack the size of Texas and maybe suffering a blackout of major proportions, I don’t think I’d be able to recall each and every step because I have horrible powers of recollection.

Anyway.  So what are the main takeaways from this post?  For me, I would start with the most important:  Protect your investment so you don’t end up in this kind of predicament in the first place! 

Keep your eye on your equipment and don’t haphazardly leave your cameras lying around like a set of keys and a pack of bubble gum.  Don’t put your equipment in situations that might lead to accidents.  Don’t bring your DSLR into the bathroom under any circumstances.  And invest in a good no-accident force field. 

🙂

Question:  Camera owners, have you ever broken your camera equipment?  If so, how did it happen? Were you able to recover your images?  Did you end up having to purchase a new camera?  What advice would you give other camera owners that wasn’t covered in the DPS post?

Speak your piece.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Pingback: TechFeeds.info

Leave a Reply

