Photo of the Day: Not Starbucks.


Yes, your eyes are not playing tricks on you.  This is not, I repeat, not Starbucks.

Those of you who know me know that I love me some Starbucks. Not as much as my sister in photography, but I have loved Starbucks since my carefree post-college days in Evanston, Illinois where we would get the hookup on coffee beverages.  Yes!  So I consider myself to be a pretty loyal Starbucks customer.  

However, when your cash flow is low and you don’t have the energy to trek across town to the nearest Starbucks oasis for free wi-fi and coffee, you have to seek out other alternatives.  Fortunately, for me, I think I may have found it in Wired Beans Cafe on Germantown Avenue. 

It’s conveniently located right across the street from the post office where I get my mail (check). 

It has free wi-fi (check).

It has good coffee (check).

And, there are places to sit (bonus).

What more can I ask for?  Well, it’s owned and operated by an African-American husband and wife team, so that’s a plus.  I like when my money goes to support small businesses, especially those run by African-Americans. I’ve been very pleased with the service and quality of the coffee the couple of times that I’ve been there, and I plan to make it my business to frequent this establishment as much as I can afford to.

P.S. If you haven’t noticed, I’ve gone with a new look for the blog. Tell what you think of it.

6 thoughts on “Photo of the Day: Not Starbucks.

  1. LOL! I just let out the biggest chuckle reading those first few lines! There is nothing wrong with finding a good alternative, especially these days, and even more so when it supports “our” small businesses. Rock on! *holding up my Starbuck’s cup in cheer* 😀

Leave a Reply

