Photo of the Day: Girl, Lemme Tell You!


So many of you may know that I’ve been talking about stepping up my street photography game, and given that, I’ve decided to use a method commonly known by street photographers as “shooting from the hip.”

Since I’m pretty tall (5’10”), shooting from my hip really translates to shooting from my boob area.   That’s okay though, because that means no one will really notice or really give me grief, especially the menfolk.  😉 

I decided to change my strategy because I’ve found (much to my chagrin and disappointment) that since I began shooting with my Nikon almost a year ago, everyone doesn’t want to be a star and that no one wants a camera with a telephoto lens pointed in their direction or shoved in their face. 

Image Backstory:  I was drawn to this young lady at the Chinese restaurant yesterday because she was busy gabbing on her cell phone, while waiting for her order. I wanted to see if I could get  a shot off without her noticing.  I was able to get a few off before this one, with which I was pretty pleased. I know the angle was pretty drastic, but that’s because she was standing up and I was sitting down, directly in front of her.

So over the next few posts, I will be sharing with you images birthed from my hips.  I mean, images birthed from my camera, perched comfortably near my hips.  Enjoy.

P.S. – I wanna send a big shout out to all my folks in the Midwest who got hit by SNOWPOCALYPSE, SNOWTORIOUS BIG or whatever you want to call it.  Please be safe and I’ll be praying for sun to melt all that snow y’all got.

One thought on “Photo of the Day: Girl, Lemme Tell You!

Leave a Reply

