SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: Faded Royalty, and 4 Other Images Will Be Shown In The “Images of Jersey City” Group Exhibition, Opening May 14th!!!


In lieu of my regular Photo of the Day post, I wanted to take a moment to make a special announcement…..

I am really, really, really happy to announce that 5 of my photos will be included in a group exhibition entitled “Images of Jersey City,” sponsored by Project Greenville.   They are:  Faded Royalty, Audubon Park I (see below; Audubon Park II can be seen here), The God Wall, Late Practice, and Dog Loves That Human

In My Hood (Audubon Park I). Taken August 27, 2010 in Jersey City, NJ

This exhibit is near and dear to my heart because I lived in the Greenville section of Jersey City for 3 years before moving to Philadelphia.  Subsequently, I took a lot of photos there and in other JC neighborhoods.  So I’m really excited about this exhibit because it will hopefully continue to attract a lot of positive attention for a community that could really use some. 

I want to send a big shout out to Elizabeth Deegan, exhibit organizer and the mastermind behind this effort.  She is to be commended for her energy, vision, generosity, focus and tenacity.  I would have never known about this opportunity if she hadn’t popped over to my blog a few months ago to check out my photograph of the Faded Royalty mural  I took up in Jersey City Heights back in November, 2010.  She worked singlehandedly to generate a lot of buzz about this exhibit and was successful in getting a lot of attention and press

People like her are the reason why it was so hard for me to leave Jersey City, but people like her are the reason why I still have hope in humanity and in the arts.  Without people like her, emerging artists and photographers like me would have limited or no opportunities to showcase our works to new audiences, audiences that may never get a chance to see themselves and their communities in the work that we produce.  I won’t get on my pro-art and free-expression soapbox here, but those of you who know me well know how I feel about this issue.

At any rate, the exhibit will feature the works of over 20 photographers..all things Jersey City, New Jersey, which is really cool.  Jersey City has a lot of offer and I can personally say from having lived there, it definitely has its share of diverse people, places and things, and it deserves a lot more attention other than the fact that it’s across the river from NYC and convenient to the PATH trains.  I know that my counterparts did a fantastic job capturing the essence of what is Jersey City through their lenses.  Many congratulations to all of them.

So…..if you’re in the NYC/north Jersey area and want to check out some awesome photography, the exhibit opens this coming Saturday, May 14th from 3:00 – 8:00 pm with a reception.  It will be open to the viewing public on the following Saturdays:  May 21, May 28, June 4 and June 11 from 1:00 – 5:00 pm. Also, it will be open on Friday, June 3rd, from 3:00 – 7:00 pm as part of JC Fridays.  If these times don’t fit your schedule, appointments can be made to view the exhibit by calling (646) 361-1858.  There will be a closing party Saturday, June 18th from 3:00 -8:00 pm.  Click here to see the nice flyer that was produced to announce the exhibition.

So here we go!!! Let’s get it in 2011!

Let’s Connect!!!  Facebook | Twitter | Flickr  | Tumblr

5 thoughts on “SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: Faded Royalty, and 4 Other Images Will Be Shown In The “Images of Jersey City” Group Exhibition, Opening May 14th!!!

  1. GENX, so happy that your works will be shown in this exhibit. I am so proud of you and cannot wait to hear more about the ones you have coming in the NEAR future.

Leave a Reply

