May 24, 2011: Where Did She Go?


Hey everybody, I just wanted to pop my head in to say hey and give you a brief update on what I’m up to these days.  I just posted an update over on my Facebook Fan page, but I figured there may be some of you who follow the blog who might be wondering what the deal is.

Yes, this is for those of you who haven’t quite gotten up the nerve to connect with me on Facebook yet.  Because I love you and appreciate your support, I’m gonna let that slide for now, but I expect for you to take that important next step real soon so that our relationship can grow and deepen.  Did I forget to mention that I love you?

Right now, I’m on a bit of a hiatus from shooting and photo-blogging to try to recharge and devote some attention to other areas of my life.  A lot has happened over the past month or so and I admittedly needed to take a break to breathe, recharge and reflect.  Don’t worry, though, your fearless stranger with a camera won’t be on hiatus for long.  I plan to be back on the grind real soon.  I just want to get some other things in order first so I can turn my attention back to shooting  and blogging.

However, I can’t not do anything, right?  I’m a Virgo, and we Virgos like to stay busy and mentally engaged. It’s hard for me to just sit around and do absolutely nothing.  So here’s what I’ve been up to, in a nutshell:

1.  I have been over at Tumblr working on my I Heart Brothas (aka Bro-Thology) project.   If you’re on Tumblr, let me know, because I’d love to connect with you.

2.   Since I’m an aspiring street photographer, I’ve committed myself to not only shooting, but studying the works of others who have redefined and elevated the genre.  So, right now, I’m studying the work of Matt Stuart and will be checking out David Solomons’ and Nick Turpin’s work as well over the coming weeks.  I also love the work of Eric Kim.  The work of the late Vivian Maier is definitely an inspiration when it comes to street photography as well, and if you’re not familiar with her, take a moment to get familiar with her life story; she was a fascinating woman.

….But the question that grows louder and louder in my head is:  Where are the African American women street photographers?  Inquiring minds wanna know.  

3.  Since the days are getting longer, I’ve made it a point to study the effects of natural light on everything around me.  Light and shadow are the essence of photography (you may agree or disagree with me on this and if you do, I’d love to hear your take on it) and I realize that I need to be more aware of these elements, as they can make or break an image. So, I’ve taken to walking around without my camera and just observing my surroundings at different times of the day. Other times, I will just sit by a window, listen to my favorite songs, and watch the sun filter through….. I know it sounds corny and lame, but, oh well.  I admit that I look for inspiration in the most unlikely and most mundane of places.

4.  Finally, I’m gearing up to post my May favorites to my Portraits in Philadelphia:  Camera Therapy series.  Look for that to drop in the next week or so.

So…that’s it.  That’s what I’ve been doing.  I’d love to hear from you, so please feel free to share your feedback in a comment to this post or hit me up privately via the contact page.

Let’s Connect!!!  Facebook | Twitter | Flickr  | Tumblr

Leave a Reply

