Photo of the Day: Meet Ron.


Taken August 11, 2011 in Philadelphia, PA

In today’s installment of my photo series Portraits of Philadelphia:  Camera Therapy, I present Ron, another Mt. Airy resident and lover of photography.  He told me that he purchased his first camera, a Nikon film SLR, in Okinawa, Japan in 1970 for $300!  I remarked that I wasn’t even born (but quickly clarified that I was born not too long after that).

We chatted for about 10 or 15 minutes after I snapped some photos of him, and he explained that he was from Roxborough, but had been living in Mt. Airy for about 4 years and that he really liked Mt. Airy because of the people.   He left me with this quote (as we were talking about how easily it is for children of different races to play together):  “Children are innocent, but adults are a$$holes! Had me cracking up!  Only in Philadelphia….only in Philly.

Leave a Reply

