Photo of the Day: Meet Quentin aka “Q” (or a Man of Few Words).


Taken August 12, 2011 in Philadelphia, PA

He was a man of few words, Quentin AKA “Q,” was.

When he, a female companion and child were walking north on Germantown Avenue, I noticed his hair and immediately knew that I wanted to capture his likeness for my Portraits of Philadelphia:  Camera Therapy series.

So when I saw him coming back down the Avenue, I jumped out my seat and flew out the door to catch him.  I’m sure he thought I was a crazy person, the way I came at him all frantic and what not.

I almost thought that he wouldn’t allow me to photograph him when I approached him, or should I say I bum-rushed him, but when I offered him one of my cards, he relaxed a bit.

We chatted a bit, which I try to do to put my subjects at ease, and to find out a little bit about them to make for an interesting blog post.

Surprisingly, he stated that no one really asks him about his hair or stops him on the street to photograph him.  I guess there’s a first time for everything, I suppose!

Also, check out one of the outtakes on my Facebook Page….as always I welcome comments and feedback!

PS.  I’m kinda mad because I shot these images at 1600 ISO (long story), which accounts for the grainy-ness (is that a word?).  But I’m learning to not be so hard on myself when these things happen.

Leave a Reply

