Last Chance to Express Yourself!! Don’t Be Left Out!


It’s a new month! Let’s all breathe a sigh of relief as we say goodbye August, goodbye earthquakes and hurricanes! I’m looking forward to great things happening this fall.

And to kick off my birthday month, I want to make a final appeal to you for your help.  Earlier this week  I wrote a blog post asking for your help in selecting one of four photos to submit to a street photography contest this coming Friday, September 2nd.   Well, it’s Thursday, September 1st, and I haven’t heard from you…perhaps you had a good reason…maybe you didn’t read the original post, or the follow-up post I wrote yesterday …I understand.  We all get busy.

But for heaven’s sake…this is social media!  What’s social about ignoring a chance to comment, tweet, or talk smack on someone’s blog?   Yeah, I thought so!

Anyway, to those of you who took the time to comment on the blog, on my Facebook Page, or via Twitter, thank you so much!  Special shout-out goes to my friend Noel…you are so awesome!  If you’re on Twitter, you need to follow him.

And to those of you who are procrastinating or just being obstinate, well…. let’s just say, time is running out.  I really want to hear from you.  I really, really, really do.  I know you’re out there, lurking, and it would really be nice to hear your thoughts.   It will only take you about 5 minutes to look at each photo and tell/tweet me which one you like the best.   That’s all.  Nothing more.

Here are the photos:

Man, She's Not Impressed. Taken June 29, 2010 in NYC.

Look at this woman’s expression….classic NYC “nothing phases me.” Not even a man doing a handstand without his hat falling off!

If you don’t like “Man, She’s Not Impressed,” register your comment.  Tell me what you don’t like about it…and while you’re at it, choose from one of the other three images below.

Chicken Head. Taken June 19, 2010 in NYC

Yes, I called the above image “Chicken Head.” I took this at the 2010 Mermaid Parade in Coney Island.  She was wearing a KFC bucket on her head  and chatting away with her friend, totally oblivious to everything going on around her.  Appropriate?  Yes.  I think so.

Respect His Manhood. Taken September 27, 2010 in Jersey City, NJ

One of my favorites is the above image, “Respect His Manhood” which I shot on the streets of Jersey City, NJ last year.  A man who has the guts to use a frog umbrella in the rain without blinking an eye gets my respect.

Lovers In Their Own World. Taken June 29, 2010 in NYC.

Finally, I was going to go with “Lovers In Their Own World” (originally titled “Lovers Embrace Among the Chaos”) because I think it embodies what street photography is all about.  In the midst of all of the chaos in the heart of midtown Manhattan, in a city notorious for its anti-commitment, love em’ and leave ’em sentiment, I captured this couple, holding one another in a tight embrace, oblivious to the madness.  They didn’t wait, they found each other, held on to one another, bags and all.  Believe me, that’s a feat unto itself (those of you New Yorkers can relate to what I’m saying).

Anyway, I don’t want to unduly influence you.  I want to know what you think. Hit me up on Twitter, Facebook or here in the comments.  I promise.  I won’t ask after today.

Thank you and peace.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ken says:

    I really love your black and white photography! Somehow it brings a stark reality to you subjects. Thanks for sharing it.

    KO

    1. Thank you very much and don’t be a stranger!

Leave a Reply

