Saying Goodbye to 2011: A Year of Transitions….and Blessings!


2012 Is Right Around The Bend (Taken December 30 2011 in Philadelphia PA.). The older I get, I find that I'm more inclined to speak through my work than through the written word. And this picture encapsulates in one frame what this year meant to and for me.

 (You can also find this image in my Flickr photo stream….)

December 31, 2011

Here we are, at the end of another year.  This is the point where we are supposed to take stock of how good or bad 2011 was to us.

For me (and others, from what I can see online and off) 2011 was truly a wild and bumpy roller coaster ride, presenting a lot of highs, lows, ups and downs.

I moved.  A lot.

I lost.  A lot.

Certain situations I had to face down and work through, requiring a great deal of intestinal fortitude, courage and a double dose of faith.  Many many dark nights wrapped me in despair and hopelessness.  There were other days where I found myself wanting to give up and go back to my old life.  Many tears were shed.

But as it is written in Psalm 30:5 (New International Version), “For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime; weeping may remain for a night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.”

So I had to pick myself up, dust myself off, dry my tears, and open myself up the blessings that awaited me.  I learned that a closed fist never gets fed.

My blessings, on their face, were a mixed bag, but for all of them, I am grateful.

Several people were placed in my path to lift me up and remind me of the true meaning of humanity.  For your generous, honest and loving friendship, I thank you.  Other people were placed in my path to try to tear me down.  Despite your malicious intent, I thank you.  Others still left my life, hopefully never to return.  Thank you for making a space in my life to be filled with the love, life and laughter of people who choose to be in my life and accept me for who I am, scars and all.

In short, through it all, I endured.  I survived, and I thrived.

I love you all.  Without your patience, support and encouragement, I don’t think I would have made it this far.

To 2012:  I’m ready.  I’ve looked around the bend and all I see is an open road.  I pray that the blessings and lessons that await me in the coming 12 months will make me into a better human being.  mother, sister, cousin, friend and photographer.

Leave a Reply

