A Year Has Passed…


Dollar Dollar Bills Y'all... Taken January 7, 2012 in Philadelphia PA

…. And I’m still here.  In Philly.  Taking pictures. Deal with it.

I remember the day, January 10, 2011, when I left north Jersey with two suitcases and my backpack and 3 1/2 years of bittersweet memories.  I lugged my crap from train to train and when finally I pulled into the 30th Street Station early that evening I still was not convinced that I made the right choice to come here.

And now, as I look back on how events unfolded over the past 12 months, I am convinced that the move here was the best thing I could have done for myself.  Period.

And I realize that the most important thing I could do for myself is take care of myself…that I’m no good to anyone else if I wasn’t working to become the best human being I can be.  Period.

I’ll be honest with you.  I don’t really recall what it feels like to be holding a fistful of dollars like the guy in this photo.  It’s been a while.  However, I have been blessed in so many other ways.  I have made some new friends and learned what true generosity and selflessness looks like.  I have begun a new life as a freelance photographer.    Although I’m broke as hell, I am rich beyond measure.  I’m healthier… I’m calmer.  I’m at peace.  And I’m completely open to the possibilities.  Finally.

And with these gifts, I choose to dwell on the positives in every situation.  And when the positives dry up and wither away, I move on.  Simple as that.  I’ve decided that there’s no need to waste my time or energy on negative, soul sucking relationships or situations that offer no hope of turning themselves around.  I recognize that some people may not get me.  I also recognize that others may choose to not support or endorse my life choices.  I’m also cool with the fact that when it’s all said and done, there may be a lot of folks missing from the frame.  I’m okay with all that.  FINALLY.

It’s become clear to me that I have a mission, and I intend to fulfill it.  I hope that I’ll have good things to report in the coming months.

Peace and blessings,

Tieshka

4 thoughts on “A Year Has Passed…

  1. I’m glad you made the move! I never would’ve “run into you” at Wired Beans! and I LOVE your work. I believe this is the year of breakthroughs for many of us. I pray a breakthrough for you this year…a good one, a prosperous one, a healthy one and a relational one! Pray for me too! ❤

    1. Pastor!!! Thank you so much for leaving a comment on today’s post. Whew! I am so glad we made it through 2011. Where would we be without God’s grace and prayer!! The breakthrough has already begun (I’m claiming it for 2012 and beyond!!)….I look forward to seeing you over the weekend for the MLK Day activities. (hugs)

  2. Some folks never find the mental strength to decide to change their lives and do what makes them happy, much less follow it through. To have believed in the dream and realized is much more than some will ever accomplish. I’m so happy, YOU’RE happy!

Leave a Reply

