PHOTO OF THE DAY: Fragments of Time (Project 52, Week 3).


Fragments of Time. Taken January 16, 2012 in Philadelphia PA

When I took this photo on Monday, I didn’t really plan for this image to become my Project 52 post for week #3.  But it is.

Let me explain why it resonated so strongly with me…. so strongly, in fact, that I woke up out of my sleep early Tuesday morning to edit it and write the post.

As I grow older, I realize that the whole of our lives are made up of little, fragmented moments in time.  They are experiences that are rooted in and connected to structures and foundations we hold dear, i.e., family, religion, culture, community, rituals.  Sometimes these experiences make sense, but more often than not, they don’t.

It’s not until we are confronted with death, literally or figuratively, that we begin to understand how  all of our fragmented experiences fit together and why they are necessary.  They are the very things that get us through to the other side.

Once we make it through, if we have learned anything, we should begin to approach life in a more holistic and unified way.  On our own, we begin to see the connections in everything because those fragmented experiences in time were all the things that we needed to bring us to the present.

The rub is this:  Often we find that many of the structures we were taught to cherish don’t always fit our reality.  That’s when we have to ask ourselves, what do we keep and what do we throw away.

Project 52 - 2012, Week #3

8 thoughts on “PHOTO OF THE DAY: Fragments of Time (Project 52, Week 3).

  1. Well first let me just say…wow! I love the shot and the editing you did. I’m a huge fan of black and white photography (need to use it more often myself) and I just love how you worded our our lives…our time…and how we perceive it.

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful talent with us. I found you through Project 52…I haven’t yet made my post but will shortly.

    Bright blessings,
    Kathy

  2. Wow, a both eery and stunning photo, all at the same time! The black and white just gives it that timeless feel, and as I sat here looking at it, so many connections between time, life and death, beginning and end, ran through my mind. Thanks, as always, for sharing and linking up!

Leave a Reply

