PHOTO OF THE DAY: Note-taker (Project 52, Week #5).


Note-Taker. Taken January 31 2012 in Mt. Lebanon PA

Hello friends.  I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted to the blog (a week, I know).

Just a reminder…if you want to keep up with my daily goings and comings without having to wait for me to post to this blog… you should like my Facebook page (hint hint) and/or follow me on Facebook.

This week, I found myself on the other side of the state of PA, in Pittsburgh, and more specifically, in the municipality of Mt. Lebanon, which is about 6 miles south of Pittsburgh.  I made the trek to visit one of my oldest and dearest college friends, who relocated from the hot Southwest to Pittsburgh to take a job as the assistant director of the beautiful Mt. Lebanon Public Library.

Last night, the library hosted a lecture on the history of Pittsburgh jazz.  The lecture was given by Pittsburgh-bred pianist, arranger,and historian Tom Roberts. It was a full house, and Mr. Roberts truly delivered an enlightening and spirited talk.  I learned a lot about Pittsburgh’s vibrant and rich jazz scene which goes back many many years.  What was fascinating to me was the Pittsburgh-Chicago jazz connection…my ears always perk up when my hometown is mentioned.

Of course, I had my camera, and volunteered to document the event.  Of all the photos I took, this one, in particular, is my favorite, for all the obvious reasons.  I guess his reasoning was, if you have to sit through a 2-hour event, you should get as comfortable as you can.

🙂

And because this is Wednesday, I’m linking to my sister in photography’s blog, Tickle My Whimsy.  If you haven’t started a photography project for 2012, there’s still time to jump in.  Just click the badge below to learn more about how you can get involved.

And I’m so sad that it’s Wednesday, because now I must prepare to return to Philly this afternoon.  I had a blast, met a lot of wonderful people, and learned something new…but as we all know, all good things must come to an end, right? Goodbye Pittsburgh.  You haven’t seen the last of me.  I’ll be back!

Peace and blessings!

 

Project 52 - 2012 Week #5

2 thoughts on “PHOTO OF THE DAY: Note-taker (Project 52, Week #5).

Leave a Reply

