STOP THE INSANITY!!! (Remembering Trayvon Martin).


Lil Man. Taken February 12, 2011 in Philadelphia, PA.

Lately, I have been struggling to find the right words to express myself in response to the madness that seems to be escalating with each passing day.  So many emotions – conflicting ones – swirl around in my head and stab at my heart, and I’ve become almost mute, afraid to speak, afraid to offend, afraid to make others uncomfortable, afraid, afraid, afraid.

Luckily I have my photography to speak for me.  And oh, I’m so glad that I have my photography to speak for me.

As the saying goes, “one picture is worth ten thousand words.”  And frankly, I don’t have 10,000 words to express the anger and frustration that has been building within me over the past few months.

As shock, disgust and disbelief over the murder of 17-year-old Trayvon Martin rippled across the world (thanks to the power and potency of social media), I tried to figure out what, if anything, I could bring myself to say, to add to the burgeoning discourse, that would be meaningful, that would add some value to the ongoing discussion, that would bring some level of healing to this gaping national wound that continues to fester….with each injustice, the wound keeps being reopened, each time more violently and senselessly than the last. I meditated and reflected on all that I have read and seen (I refuse to listen to the 911 audio clips or Martin’s last phone conversation with his friend…I’m not strong enough for that), I thought about the above image of the young male walking toward Germantown Avenue.

I took the above photo over a year ago.  When I took it, I didn’t think that it had settled so deeply into my subconscious, rumbling around, waiting for the right time to resurface.  I didn’t think that the right time for it to resurface would be now.  God knows that this was not my intent.

Lil Man.  Who is Lil Man?

He is my soon to be 7-year-old son in Georgia (whom I love and miss dearly).

He is the embodiment of  my two young nephews in the St. Louis area (whom I love and miss dearly)….my male cousins all over the country.

He is my significant other (who I love and pray for daily).

He is my father, my late grandfathers…my uncles, my friends and acquaintances, and all the Black men, young and old, who are just trying to live their lives the best way they know how.

Damn!

When will the injustice stop??

When will the insanity stop??!?!?

When will America make good on its promise?

How much more blood must be spilled on the streets?

How many more lives have to be cut short?

I have nothing else to say.

Someone needs to explain this shit to me.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    This is part of the account of what actually happened, if you look real hard you can find the witness account of the man that actually witnessed Trayvon on top of Zimmerman while punching Zimmerman in the face and slamming his head against the ground. Trayvon was said to be yelling to Zimmerman during this, “your gona die tonight moth**F***er” The witness then said he locked his patio door and ran upstairs to call 911. Thats when he heard the shot. One of my questions is, Why was Trayvon in that mans backyard to begin with? and in the 911 tape you can here Zimmerman say “he is coming at me now” just before his phone went dead.

    There is a lot to this story that is nat being told in the media. including a recent picture of Trayvon who is said to be a 6′ 3″ football player. the pictures being used are all over 4 years old. it seems to me someone is trying to use the terrible incident to cause even more hate and discontent.

    http://www.myfoxorlando.com/dpp/news/seminole_news/022712-man-shot-and-killed-in-neighborhood-altercation#ixzz2JYOzg0l3

    Veritas of Miami at 9:28 PM March 21, 2012

    This is not the real story. George called 911 to report a suspicious person. As he got off the phone the kid attacked him and started beating the crap out of him and slamming his head against the walkway. All the while saying “you’re gunna die tonight motherxxxxxx”. George was screaming help when someone in a nearby apartment called 911 again. George’s shirt came up while the kid was beating him, revealing the gun that he is licensed to carry. The kid went for the gun and they struggled for it, George ended up shooting the kid and saving his own life. All these people on yahoo saying that he should be in jail when they don’t even know what happened. George is the brother-in-law of one of our good family friends, works with my parents, and is one of the nicest most gentle people you will ever meet. He’s completely devastated that this happened and has barely been functional from the guilt. No one shoots someone for no reason, and especially not George. And they need to stop pulling the race card, George is Hispanic, not white.”

    1. Hello Someone aka Anonymous: I would be happy to debate you on your “interpretation” of the facts surrounding this case, but you didn’t even bother to share your identity. That in itself is a red flag for me and often times is a precursor to someone just looking to pick a fight (kinda like George Zimmerman did when he pursued Trayvon even after he was told to stand down – a minor detail you conveniently left out of your comment).

      You may or may not have bothered to notice, but I don’t make a point to engage with anonymous commenters on my blog. At any rate, thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. Peace and blessings.

  2. Keith Miller says:

    This whole thing leaves a sickening taste in my mouth. Just when you think you have gotten to the point that you, your kids, your nephews, and everyone that you love are capable of walking peacefully, able to dream and work hard for their future you reaad about this kind of stuff. Unfortunately, I’m not strong enough to watch any videos or listen to any phone calls. The last time I watched something like this, it haunted me for months and I fell into a deep depression. It rocks me to the core to know that a young man had to go through this and that the police or nearby neighbors had the audacity to not investigate. We know that if it was a white man that was shot, even if the man was wearing a KKK Klans man hoodie with a noose around Trayvon’s neck, they would have still investigated and locked Trayvon up with very little evidence at all. And to think that we have to be forced to watch with all of these technicalities is just a crying shame.

    1. Hey Keith, thanks for stopping by and commenting. I, like you, have been very disturbed and sickened by the Trayvon Martin tragedy. I find solace in knowing and believing deep in my heart and soul that he did not die in vain. His memory will mobilize like-minded people across generations, races, religions and geography seeking peace and equality for all people, regardless of their background, ethnicity, economic status or what kind of clothing they wear. Justice will prevail.

Leave a Reply

