PHOTO OF THE DAY: All for One, One for All (Unity).


Taken April 21, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

I love this image.  That’s all.

UPDATE:

Actually, that’s not all.  Over the last few days, I’ve been pondering why this image deeply resonated with me.  I’m a big fan of the English language, and I believe that we (and that “we” includes me!) throw words around without really understanding their meaning and context.  So…I consulted the dictionary to get the meaning of the word unity.  According to The Free Dictionary, the definition of “Unity” is as follows:

1. The state or quality of being one; singleness.
2. The state or quality of being in accord; harmony.
3a. The combination or arrangement of parts into a whole; unification.
3b. A combination or union thus formed.
4. Singleness or constancy of purpose or action; continuity.
So, when I think about this image, I see all these young hands joined together to create a sense of harmony.  They are our future…let’s give them the tools and values that will help them do better than us:  We need to unite around a singleness of purpose, not remain divided over petty issues that, at the end of the day, don’t help to progress the human race to its highest potential.
Peace and blessings.

 

3 thoughts on “PHOTO OF THE DAY: All for One, One for All (Unity).

  1. When we were talking with the children about “we are all different, we are all alike” and then we were comparing the differences in our skin color and all of them put their hands on top of mine it was such a powerful feeling for me, i was so happy feeling those little hands, their innocent realization and love. You capture it so beautifully! I so much love this pic!

Leave a Reply

