PHOTO OF THE DAY: Baby, Baby, Please!!


Taken April 25, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

Let me set the scene for you….

I was walking toward the Northwest Regional Library after enjoying a healthy breakfast at Burger King at the corner of Chelten Avenue and Wayne.  Yeah, I was in the mood for a Whopper with cheese at 10:30 in the morning and my taste buds would not be denied.

The problem with this, is, there are a lot of calories in a Whopper with cheese, so, I had to walk it off.

I spotted this woman, the one in the photo, and I’ll be honest. The white sunglasses she was wearing were something to behold.  One thing about us black women, we will go to extremes to stand out from the crowd.

So as a street photographer, I use this to my advantage!

Back to the scene:  I observed her taking off her jacket and draping it over her shopping cart and while she was doing this, a man walked up behind her. They were exchanging the type of words that only couples exchange. He clearly was not #winning. She wasn’t having any of what he had to say.

Somewhere between him begging and her rebuffs, she had the time and inclination to put her jacket back on.  And while they were doing the dance of unrequited love, I snapped this photo.

And kept it moving.

Because I don’t like drama, and there was enough drama in this scene for about 10 people.

There are public displays of affection, and then there’s this.

🙂

I suppose many of you have seen moments like this in your travels.  Any of these moments stand out?  Tell me about them in the comments!

On another note, I’ll get back to posting new street portraits next week.  In the meantime, have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

