PHOTOS OF THE DAY: Meet James and David, the Tomato Guys.


Do you like tomatoes?  I do.

I like them so much that when I spotted these guys across Chelten Avenue,  from Northwest Regional Library, I made a beeline over to them to find out why they had a cart with the reddest, ripest tomatoes I’ve ever seen!

Taken April 25, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

I introduced myself and asked if I could take some photos. James, who is below, was very kind and agreed to let me photograph him. He wanted to know if I was with the local newspaper. I get that a lot.

Taken April 25, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

I told him no…but I did mention that I was a photojournalist. He was okay with it. I love when my subjects bust out in spontaneous smiles for me.

Taken April 25, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

His associate, David, felt a little left out. So I took his photo as well. He is the one holding the tomatoes.

Taken April 25, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

By this point, a crowd had gathered…and I noticed that I had some keen observers of our impromptu photo shoot.

Taken April 25, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

What was cool about the whole tomato thing is that I found out from James that the tomatoes were being given out courtesy of Philabundance. I had heard a little bit about this organization, so it was nice to know that they were actually out in the community, partnering with people in the community, to help fight hunger.

Not only did I get one of those ripe tomatoes, but they pulled out a head of lettuce to go along with it. Unfortunately, James noted, he didn’t have any onions to go along with it if I was looking to make a salad.

No problem, James. I made some damn good (turkey)BLT sandwiches last week!

Leave a Reply

