PHOTO OF THE DAY: Meet Darius.


Meet Darius, a talented poet, Philly native, and host of Coffee After Dark, a very popular spoken word event held every Thursday at Wired Beans Cafe in Mt. Airy. I try to get by there and shoot every now and again.  Lots of talented artists come through there and put it down.

Taken April 25, 2012 in Philadelphia PA.

While I was chatting with Tomato Guys, Darius walked up. I asked him to wait so that I could take his photo.

Taken April 25, 2012 in Philadelphia PA.

From what I understand, he has a number of projects in the works, including a poetry tour in June and a CD he’s working on.  I wish him the best of luck in all of his creative endeavors.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Fatima A. says:

    I find this really interesting since I write some poetry, but I didnt’t know they have poetry tours! That is so cool! 🙂

    1. I didn’t know you wrote poetry! Do you share any of it on your blog?

      Yes, the poetry and spoken word scene here in Philly is really thriving. I have met a lot of talented, accomplished and driven artists who work very hard at their craft and at sharing their work not only locally but regionally and nationally as well. It’s very inspiring!

      1. Fatima A. says:

        Yes, I used to post them on my blog, but I got really into shoe design so I don’t post them as much, but I still write all the time. If you want you can check out a few by searching poems in the search bar on my blog and see the one I preformed at my school’s open mic night by searching matter.

        That is really interesting though, I have to make sure to visit up there and check it out one day! I’m sure I would love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

