PHOTO OF THE DAY: Meet Devin.


I’ll be honest. I have a weakness when it comes to hair. I think a person’s hair speaks volumes about his/her personality and outlook on life. I may be reading way too much into this, but who cares. That’s what I think. And I’m rarely wrong. (I kid, I kid!!)

I was at the library (again) when I noticed Devin. Actually I noticed his curly, red locks before I noticed him. I was sitting at the table working on a few things on my computer when he walked up behind me. I turned around and asked him if he worked for the library.

He said, “Oh no.”

Me: “Oh! Great! I’m a photographer, and I would love to take your photo to include in a project I’m working on called Portraits of Philadelphia.”

Him: “Yeah, sure! But I didn’t even take a shower this morning!!”

We both laughed. I can fully understand and relate to that…you roll out of bed on a Saturday morning and run up to the library, not expecting some crazy photographer to ask you to take your picture.

But as we all know, stranger things have happened.

He agreed, and we met outside the library 15 minutes later.  History was in the process of being made.

Taken April 28, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA

What’s Devin’s story?

Well, he is NOT a Philly native. He and I are probably the only two people in this city who are not natives.

He and his wife of three years moved here two years ago.  He studied Religious History at Temple University.   He was pleased to report that he had just earned his master’s degree. Congratulations Devin!!

Now that I think about it, he does look like your typical grad student…

I asked him if he and his wife lived in Germantown, and he said yes. He remarked that he liked being able to walk to everything, including the library. Who could disagree with that? I can’t.

Taken April 28, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

All the while, he was smiling and friendly and so nice. I attribute it to the red hair. There can’t be another reason!  Everyone I know with red hair is always so pleasant.

No, I jest. Devin was a really nice guy, and I hope that he decides to stick around Philly to get that PhD. We need more non-natives to balance things out around here. Besides, if I need an expert in Religious History, I know whom to call!

One thought on “PHOTO OF THE DAY: Meet Devin.

Leave a Reply

