PHOTO OF THE DAY: Meet Artist Jasmine Roper.


Meet Jasmine.

She’s a very talented up and coming visual artist whom I had the pleasure of meeting recently at Wired Beans Cafe. Currently, her stunning creations are on display at Wired Beans through the month of June.  Check out her website, Jasmine’s Soul Expressions and be prepared to be completely amazed.

I asked her if I could photograph her and some of her work and feature it on my blog and she was thrilled that I asked.

Taken May 3, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

The above image is of Jasmine with a wonderful portrait she made of Rob Wheeler, owner of Wired Beans Cafe. It was presented to him on his birthday!

Taken May 3 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

Portrait of a portrait….

Jasmine painted a portrait of Lawrence Williams, a local teacher and mutual friend.  The painting is titled “The Traveler.”  I wanted to make a portrait of Lawrence with the portrait she painted.

Although he is the epitome of seriousness in this image, he is quite the character and multi-talented as well (one evening he astonished everyone at Coffee After Dark with his poetic stylings)!

Taken May 3 2012 in Philadelphia PA

This beautiful piece is called “Girl Talk” and it is one of my favorites of Jasmine’s.  I can totally see this on my walls…if anyone is interested in buying me a birthday gift, please feel free to buy this.  I would be eternally grateful!

Jasmine, pictured with “God’s Gift.” Taken May 3 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

As we wrapped up our photo session, Jasmine and I got to know each other a little more.   I found her to be a very engaging, humble and delightful person to talk to.

A very goal-oriented young lady, she disclosed that she juggled her work in the studio alongside her course work, earning a degree in physical therapy.  She served in the National Guard.  I was amazed by her positive energy and focus.

If you are in the Philadelphia area, be sure to get over to Wired Beans Cafe to check out Jasmine’s show.  Wired Beans Cafe is located in Mt. Airy at 6734 Germantown Avenue, 19119.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Marcy says:

    DO YOUR THINGS CUZ….I’M GOING TO POST YOUR WEBSITE SO MORE PEOPLE CAN SEE YOUR WORK

Leave a Reply

