PHOTO OF THE DAY: Meet Chuck and Pete.


So I was at this laundromat on Queen Lane and Wayne doing my laundry on Mother’s Day.  When I finished, I went back home and rested for a little while before heading back out to do a little more shooting.

My plan was to catch the church ladies coming out of service wearing their elaborate hats…but I realized that I came back out a wee bit too late.  The church folks had come and gone.

Oh well.

So I walked to the corner of Queen and Wayne with the intent of catching the 53 bus into north Philly.

Well, when I approached the corner, I saw two men sitting in front of the laundromat and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to take their photo.

Taken May 13, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA

I introduced myself and asked if I could take their photo for my portraits of Philly project.  I recognized the man on the right to be the operator of the laundromat.  He told me that his name was Pete.  He was very friendly and agreeable and didn’t have a problem with me photographing him at all.

However, the man on the left, Chuck, the gentleman with the black baseball cap covering his face….gave me the hardest time.  I couldn’t hardly get the words out of my mouth when he took off in his wheelchair to the corner.

I convinced him to come back and this was the best I could do as far as getting a portrait of Chuck.  He asked me if I was planning to take his photo and put it over my bed.

Uh, no.

After a few moments of chatting and laughing it up with these two, I discovered  that Chuck is a big flirt, and he knows everyone on the other side of Wayne Ave.

Like I said, everything works out the way it’s supposed to.

I was even able to get another portrait of Pete.

Taken May 13, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA

One thought on “PHOTO OF THE DAY: Meet Chuck and Pete.

  1. PHOTO OF THE DAY: Meet Chuck and Pete. | PWTP. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

