PHOTOS OF THE DAY: Meet Michelle.


I met Michelle at the library a few weeks ago. I didn’t have a chance to introduce myself, as I knew I wanted to capture her image. Well, when she came in again, alone, I knew I wanted to approach her.

I introduced myself, and told her a little bit about my project, and asked if she would be willing to be photographed. She agreed, so we headed outside to the corner of Chelten and Greene.

Taken May 8, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA

In between shots, she told me a bit about her story.  She just moved to Philly from Baltimore and lived on Chelten on the west side of Wayne. The verdict was still out on whether or not she liked Philadelphia…she thought that people here could be a little more nice.

There are some days where I completely agree with that assessment…then there are other days where I come across the nicest people who go out of their way to be pleasant and agreeable.

I guess it all depends on where you go and who you talk to, and sometimes, what time of day it is.

Taken May 8 2012 in Philadelphia, PA

We talked hair for a minute as I observed that she was loc’ing her hair.  She asked me if I wore my hair in locs; I replied that I did (can’t believe it will be 10 years this November!!!)

She had a son, and was expecting her second child in July. I asked her if she knew the baby’s sex, and she said yes, she was expecting a girl! Michelle said that she was planning to name the baby “Aviela” which in Hebrew, means, God is the Father.

Nice!

So I wanted to get some belly shots, and she was cool with it.

Taken May 8 2012 in Philadelphia, PA

Hello Aviela!

This black and white shot is my favorite, and is being shown along with 2 other photos in Project Greenville’s current art show in Jersey City!  I’m really excited about that.

Taken May 8 2012 in Philadelphia, PA

Thank you Michelle…can’t wait to meet Aviela in a few months!

Leave a Reply

