URGENT: Your Support Is Needed for London Trip, September 3-15, 2012!!!.


Ben Pimlott Building at Goldsmiths, University...

Hello Friends!

I am pleased to share with you that I have been accepted to a two-week urban photography program sponsored by Goldsmiths, the University of London !!!

(Please click the above link to access background information on this program.)

It’s been a dream of mine for many years to travel to London to shoot on the streets.  I even bought one of those Not for Tourist guides to London a few years back and finally plopped down the money to get my passport.  So imagine my excitement when I got information from a friend about this opportunity.

I decided to apply, on a whim. I submitted a short application and 10 images from my Germantown photo series last Wednesday.   I wasn’t entirely sure if I would be accepted or not, so imagine my surprise when I got the good news in my email box early yesterday morning.  YAY!

Here’s the challenge.  I need your support to get there.

(Yes.  I’m taking the advice of someone I respect and admire, and I’m putting it out there that I need help.  This is a big deal for me, because I have always prided myself on being able to take care of myself and my own. )

The program runs from September 3rd through 15th, 2012, and I need to come up with the program tuition by next week, August 14th to secure my place in the class.  That means I have roughly a week to raise the funds for tuition (1100 pounds or roughly $1,700) and a little more time to raise additional funds for round-trip airfare and incidentals (I estimate that a round trip ticket will cost another $600-700 plus another $500 for bare bones .

Right now, I’m exploring a number of options, including some grant writing to access emergency funds for artists.  Kickstarter is also an option, although I was planning on using Kickstarter to raise money for another initiative.  At any rate, if you have any grant or fundraising leads or easily implementable ideas that I can act on in a day or so, please leave a comment or send me a private message via the blog. If you need to speak to me by phone, call me at (267) 362-9535.

Now.  For those of you with deep or not so deep pockets, I invite you to make a Pay Pal donation of $10 or more to help underwrite this effort.  The donation link to my Pay Pal account can be accessed on my home page, or, you can click this link.  All donations, large or small, will be acknowledged on the blog’s wall of thanks.  I am going to be looking into options for those who make smaller gifts between $25 and $99. Any ideas along this line would be helpful.

I anticipate that at least one image I make will be included in a final group exhibition.  To that end, I will be offering signed, limited edition prints of whichever image is chosen to hang in this show to those of you generous enough to give a minimum of $100 toward making this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity a reality for me.

I am also willing to negotiate customized packages with individual supporters who feel moved and generous to make gifts larger than $500.  Believe me, I would be deeply grateful if someone or some group could step up at this short notice to help underwrite the entire cost of this trip.

So, to summarize:

  • I was accepted to a photography program in London.

  • The two week program runs from September 3-15, 2012.  By the way, September 15th is my birthday, and it would be a fabulous way to celebrate turning 40!!

  • Tuition is due August 14th.  That’s next week!!!

  • I am appealing to you for your support in helping me get there.  I believe this will be a game-changing experience for me and will help me take my work to the next level.  If you agree, I invite you to invest a few dollars to help me make this happen.  I am willing to explore all kinds of investment options, including sponsorships.

  • Even if you can’t donate, I would appreciate if you could share this post with your social networks.  I believe in the power of social media and I thank you in advance for your kindness in this regard.

Thank you for your support.

Peace and blessings,

Tieshka 🙂

2 thoughts on “URGENT: Your Support Is Needed for London Trip, September 3-15, 2012!!!.

Leave a Reply

