RECAP: BIG ART SHOW, AUGUST 25, 2012


Hey friends, it’s been awhile since I last posted to my blog.  I hated being away, but I’ve been a bit busy preparing for what looks to be a busy month of September.  This is great, because September is my birthday month and since I’m a Virgo, I like to keep busy and I like to share with you the things that I’m up to.

So….it is nice to be able to end the month of August on a bit of a high note.  I’m happy to share with you that this past Saturday, I had a chance to participate in what is called the Big Art Show in Kensington, sponsored by Pterodactyl Philadelphia.  Read about what they’re up to here.  Hat tip to my friend Elizabeth Deegan of Project Greenville for turning me on to this opportunity.  🙂

Here’s how it works:  Pterodactyl sends out a call for artists to participate in an upcoming show.  Artists respond to the call by sending weblinks of their work and agreeing to some very simple terms.  In exchange, you get to hang your work in a 6X6 foot space, for free, along with other artists.  There’s great music, little or no pressure to sell your work, all for one fun night.  I had a great time.  So, I wanted to share a few snapshots from the event.

Here’s a view of the space before the party got started.

My work!!!

Here’s a front-facing view of the work I hung for this event:

  • Left column:  Joy (2012); Those Eyes (Schoolgirl, 2012); Iron Grip (2012), all 16″X20″.
  • Middle column:   Anonymous (Sunglasses, 2011, 16″X20″); Surprise! (2011, 16″X20″); Fragments of Time (2012, 11″X14″).
  • Right column:  Self-Portrait (2011); The Clan (2011), Out of Alignment (2012): Next Move (2012), King.Queen.Bishop (2011), all 11″X14″.

One of the nice features of the Big Art Show is that there are some pretty nice bands who perform and the entertainment is curated.  I didn’t stay for all three bands that were slated to perform, but I did get images of two of them: Tiva Tiva and Psalmships.

Tiva Tiva performs while the crowd watches. Taken August 25, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA.

Psalmships performs.

Here are a few images of people viewing my work:

Black and white.

Concentrating on the amazing images….

All smiles.

Capturing a pose with “Surprise!”

Check this out!

Taken August 25, 2012 at the Big Art Show, Philadelphia, PA. Photo credit: Rita Dentino.

And here’s me!!!

Here I am, posing in front of my work at the Big Art Show, August 25 2012. Photo credit: Quincy Stallworth.

Peace and blessings,

Tieshka

6 thoughts on “RECAP: BIG ART SHOW, AUGUST 25, 2012

  1. 🙂 🙂 – Well done. I’m very pleased that you had such a wonderful experience. There’s something about complete strangers looking at your work – especially if they like it! It looks an impressive selection to me!
    (Oh, and Happy Birthday for next month!)

Leave a Reply

